Spain are World Champions after beating the Netherlands 1-0 in the Final.

Spain have completed the Euro 2008 and 2010 World Cup double after defeating the Netherlands 1-0 in the 2010 World Cup Final on Monday at Soccer City Stadium in Johannesburg.

After neither side failed to score in the first 90 minutes the game went to extra-time where Andres Iniesta scored the winning goal with a clinical strike at the 116th minute mark of the match to give Spain their maiden World Cup Final win and spark a myriad of celebrations for Spanish fans across the globe.

Spain controlled the first 15 minutes of the match but they spent most of the first half trying to avoid rough treatment at the hands of their opponents.

The referee Howard Webb should have brought the red card out in the first half but he was reluctant to do so and Spain simply had to bear the brunt of some cynical tackles from the Dutch, especially from van Bommel.

The Dutch were more intent on putting the Spain playmakers out of action in the first half rather than playing any kind of enterprising football and two players from each side received yellow cards in the first stanza.

Fortunately the Netherlands came out to play in the second half and the game opened up with both teams making chances they were unable to convert.

Arjen Robben for the Netherlands should have scored midway through the second half when he was one on one with Spanish keeper Iker Casillas but Robben’s shot went wide of the post thanks to Casilla’s outstretched leg.

Finishing 0-0 at full-time it would take extra-time to find the 2010 World Cup winner.

Extra time was an attacking affair and both sides had their moments to win the game.

Dutchman Heitinga was sent off at the 110th minute for a professional foul which left the Netherlands down to 10 men for the rest of the match.

With five minutes remaining the Dutch were furious when a Wesley Sneijder free-kick deflected off a Spain defender and out for a corner and Referee Howard Webb somehow missed the obvious and awarded a goal kick before he then disallowing a free kick to Elia in the aftermath.

Spain counter attacked shortly after and on 116 minutes Andres Iniesta nailed the winner thanks to a lovely pass from Fabregas which enabled Iniesta to put the ball past Stekelenburg and home for the winner.

Not a great Final to watch but the best team won the match and that was Spain as they came out to play football, whereas the Netherlands may have fared better if they did the same thing.

Netherlands vs Spain

Netherlands 0
Spain 1

After 90 minutes and Extra-Time
116m Andres Iniesta (Spa)

17m C. Puyol (Spa)
22m M.v. Bommel (Net)
23m S. Ramos (Spa)
28m N.d. Jong (Net)
54m G.v. Bronckhorst (Net)
57m J. Heitinga (Net)
67m J. Capdevila (Spa)
84m A. Robben (Net)
110m J. Heitinga (Net)
112m G.v.d. Wiel (Net)
117m J. Mathijsen (Net)
118m A. Iniesta (Spa)
120m X. Hernandez (Spa)

Maarten Stekelenburg, Gregory van der Wiel, Johnny Heitinga, Joris Mathijsen, Giovanni v. Bronckhorst, Mark van Bommel, Nigel de Jong, Arjen Robben, Wesley Sneijder, Dirk Kuyt, Robin van Persie
71m Eljero Elia – Dirk Kuyt
99m Rafael van der Vaart – Nigel de Jong
105m Edson Braafheid – Giovanni v. Bronckhorst

Iker Casillas, Sergio Ramos, Gerard Piqué, Carles Puyol, Joan Capdevila, Sergio Busquets, Xabi Alonso, Andrés Iniesta, Xavi Hernandez, Pedro Rodriguez, David Villa
60m Jesus Navas – Pedro Rodriguez
87m Cesc Fabregas – Xabi Alonso
106m Fernando Torres – David Villa

Filed Under: 2010 World Cup