Netherlands advance to World Cup Final with 3-2 win over Uruguay

The Netherlands have reached the World Cup Final after defeating Uruguay 3-2 in their Semi-Final match of the 2010 World Cup at Green Point Stadium in Cape Town on Wednesday.

Scores were level at half-time before the Netherlands upped the ante in the second 45 minutes to book their place in the Final against either Germany or Spain.

Giovanni van Brockhorst put the Dutch ahead after 18 minutes when his long range shot beat the keeper after hitting the inside of the woodwork.

Uruguay found themselves level just before half-time when Deigo Forlan cracked a brilliant shot from distance to find the back of the net in oustanding style.

Both sides had good chances in the second half and Uruguay almost went ahead thanks to Perreira but Van Bronckhorst was in the right place at the right time to head the ball away.

The Dutch went on the offensive and once again it was Wesley Sneijder who did the job for the Netherlands when he struck one from outside the box to make the score 2-1.

Just three minutes later Arjene Robben’s head was on the end of some good work by Dirk Kuyt and the Netherlands were two goals up and had the game in their keeping.

Maximiliano Pereira pulled one back for Uruguay during injury time but it was not enough for the South Americans and the Netherlands found themselves in the 2010 World CUp Final to face either Germany or Spain.

Uruguay vs Netherlands

Uruguay 2
Netherlands 3

18m Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Net)
41m Deigo Forlan (Uru)
70m Wesley Sneidjer (Net)
73m Arjen Robben (Net)
90m Maximiliano Pereira (Uru)

22m M. Pereira (Uru)
29m M. Caceres (Uru)
29m W. Sneijder (Net)
78m K. Boulahrouz (Net)
90m M.v. Bommel (Uru)

Néstor Muslera, Maximiliano Pereira, Diego Godin, Mauricio Victorino, Martin Caceres, Diego Pérez, Walter Gargano, Egidio Arévalo, Alvaro Pereira, Diego Forlan, Edison Cavani
78m Sebastian Abreu/Alvaro Pereira
84m Sebastian Fernandez/Diego Forlan

Maarten Stekelenburg, Khalid Boulahrouz, Johnny Heitinga, Joris Mathijsen, Giovanni v. Bronckhorst, Mark van Bommel, Demy de Zeeuw, Arjen Robben, Wesley Sneijder, Dirk Kuyt, Robin van Persie
46m Rafael van der Vaart/Demy de Zeeuw
89m Eljero Elia/Arjen Robben

The Netherlands will now meet Germany or Spain in the 2010 World Cup Final on Monday 12th July in Johannesburg.

Visit Betfair for the latest World Cup Odds.

Filed Under: 2010 World Cup