Australian 23 Man World Cup Squad Announced

The Socceroos World Cup 23 man squad has been finalised by Socceroos coach Pim Verbeek and he has axed five players from the team in South Africa.

Players not making the final squad include Tommy Oar, Shane Lowry, James Holland, Eugene Galekovic and the injured Rhys Williams.

The 23-man Australian squad for the world’s biggest soccer tournament this month will consist of the following players.

Adam Federici, Brad Jones, Mark Schwarzer

Michael Beauchamp, David Carney, Scott Chipperfield, Mark Milligan, Craig Moore, Lucas Neill, Luke Wilkshire


Mark Bresciano, Tim Cahill, Jason Culina, Brett Emerton, Richard Garcia, Vince Grella, Brett Holman, Mile Jedinak, Carl Valeri, Dario Vidosic

Josh Kennedy, Harry Kewell, Nikita Rukavytsya

Australia are in Group D for the World Cup alongside Germany, Ghana and Serbia.

Filed Under: 2010 World Cup