Who will win the Golden Boot at 2010 World Cup?

The 2010 World Cup will pit the world’s best strikers against each other on the world stage and finding the player who will score the most goals is not an easy task with so much talent around.

In the 2006 World Cup, a total of 147 goals were scored, including four own goals. Germany’s Miroslav Klose was awarded the Golden Boot when he kicked five goals in the tournament.

Here are our thoughts on the major Golden Boot chances at the 2010 World Cup.

Wayne Rooney, England $12.00
The England striker has had an outstanding goal scoring season for Manchester United and if he can take that form to South Africa then he is a big chance. England face the USA, Slovenia and Algeria in the group stages and then likely opponents could be Serbia or Australia, giving Rooney a realistic chance of netting a few goals by that stage.

David Villa, Spain $10.00
Villa has a top record at club level scoring plenty of goals in his past five seasons and he was Spain’s leading goal scorer in Euro 2008 with four goals. Spain is likely to get a fair way through the tournament and with Villa’s brilliant finishing skills and ability to get through defences, he has a top chance of scoring a few goals and lifting the trophy.

Gonzalo Higuain, Argentina $19.00
Argentina have some very skilful strikers with both Messi and Tevez quality players, but Diego Maradona has flagged Higuain as his starting striker for the World Cup and if that’s the case, then Higuain could be great value. Argentina are favoured to go through to the knockout stage and Higuain will get plenty of chances with class players like Messi and co feeding the ball through.

Fernando Torres, Spain $13.00
Torres has been struck down by injury for much of the season with Liverpool but he still managed to score 18 goals from just 22 appearances in the Premier league. Spain are currently favourites for the 2010 World Cup and if Torres is fit for the tournament then he could have a big impact with many chances to score goals coming his way.

Luis Fabiano, Brazil $13.00
Brazil are expected to go deep into the World Cup and Fabiano has a top record scoring for his country and is not without a chance of Golden Boot success. He possesses a powerful finish and has the ability to score multiple goals a game and plays with team that has a very attacking flair.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal $19.00
The Portugal star is widely recognised as one of the top three players in the world and his domestic record in recent seasons for scoring goals is astonishing. His class alone makes him a Golden boot chance and if Portugal can get past the group stage then Ronaldo could be a realistic chance.

Lionel Messi, Argentina $11.00
Messi is considered the ebst player in the world by most football pundits and he is the player most World Cup fans around the world want to see most at this year’s tournament. Messi has an outstanding record at club level but has yet to match it at country level. For Messi to land the Golden Boot then much will depend on where Maradona plays him during games. If Messi is played out wide where he can use his dazzling skills then anything is possible, but if Maradona plays him out of position then his Golden Boot chances will evaporate.

Other Golden Boot chances.

Robin van Persie $26.00 from the Netherlands has some chance if he can remain injury free, as Holland have a reasonable group and good players around him.

Didier Drogba $26.00 is the Ivory Coast’s leading goal scorer and he is a handful up front for any defender with his size and mobility. If the African side can get out of their group then Drogba is an outside chance.

Miroslav Klose $26.00 from Germany won the Golden Boot in 2006 and Germany look capable of scoring a few goals early which give Klose some chance of getting amongst the goals again in this World Cup.

Sportsbet are currently offering a Golden Boot market on the 2010 World Cup’s top scorer and if you have a fancy then you can check out the latest odds.

$300 FREE BET!

Previous World Cup Golden Boot Winners

2006 Miroslav Klose Germany 5
2002 Ronaldo Brazil 8
1998 Davor Suker Croatia 6
1994 Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria 6
1994 Oleg Salenko Russia 6
1990 Salvatore Schillacci Italy 6
1986 Gary Lineker England 6
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy 6
1978 Mario Kempes Argentina 6
1974 Grzegorz Lato Poland 7
1970 Gerd Muller West Germany 10
1966 Eusebio Portugal 9
1962 Multiple players 4
1958 Just Fontaine France 13
1954 Sandor Kocsis Hungary 11
1950 Ademir Brazil 9
1938 Leonidas da Silva Brazil 7
1934 Oldrich Nejedly Czech. 5
1930 Guillermo Stabile Argentina 8

Picking the leading goal scorer is bound to throw up plenty of debate so feel free to share you opinion if you have one.

Filed Under: 2010 World Cup