Golden Boot Winners

thomas-mullerThe prestigious Golden Boot is awarded to the leading goal scorer at the World Cup and has been won by some of the game’s greatest strikers over the years.

Germany’s Thomas Muller snared five goals to win the Golden Boot award at the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), David Villa (Spain) and Diego Forlán (Uruguay) all scored five goals at the 2010 World Cup, but Muller had the most assists (3) to win the award, with the other three players all having one assist each.

Muller followed on from fellow countrymen Miroslav Klose, who grabbed the award at Germany four years earlier.

Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi (Argentina) was the ruling Golden Boot favourite at $9.00 in early 2014 Golden Boot betting markets at leading online bookmaker, from Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) $15.00 and Neymar (Brazil) $15.00.

Next in betting was Sergio Aguero (Argentina) $17.00 and Luis Suarez (Uruguay) $19.00, while last tournament’s winner Thomas Muller (Germany) was $34.00.

>>> Visit for the latest 2014 Golden Boot odds

The 2014 Golden Boot award should be an exciting affair with a number of quality players capable of taking home the mantle of top goal scorer at the 2014 World Cup!

World Cup Golden Boot Winners

Year Host Country Golden Boot Winner Country Goals
2010 South Africa Thomas Muller Germany 5
2006 Germany Miroslav Klose Germany 5
2002 South Korea/Japan Ronaldo Brazil 8
1998 France Davor Suker Croatia 6
1994 United States Oleg Salenko Russia 6
Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria 6
1990 Italy Salvatore Schillaci Italy 6
1986 Mexico Gary Lineker England 6
1982 Spain Paolo Rossi Italy 6
1978 Argentina Mario Kempes Argentina  6
1974 West Germany Grzegorz Lato Poland 9
1970 Mexico Gerd Muller Germany 10
1966 England Eusebio Portugal 9
1962 Chile Florian Albert Hungary 4
Valentin Ivanov Sweden 4
Garrincha Brazil 4
Vavá Brazil 4
Leonel Sanchez Chile 4
Drazan Jerkovic Yugaslavia 4
1958 Sweden Just Fontaine France 13
1954 Switzerland Sandor Kocsis Hungary 11
1950 Brazil Ademir Brazil 8
1938 France Leonidas da Silva Brazil 7
1934 Italy Oldrich Nejedly * Czech-Republic 5
1930 Uruguay Guillermo Stabile Argentina 8

The Golden Boot award was previously known as the Golden Shoe and changed to the Golden Boot in 2010.

* In 2006 FIFA revised Oldrich Nejedly’s 1934 tally to five goals making him the outright winner. He previously shared the award with Edmund Conen (Germany) and Angelo Schiavio (Italy) on four goals.